Inland dry ports are otherwise known as Inland Container Deports (ICD’s) or Containers Freight Stations (CFs). An ICD is equivalent of a sea port located in the hinterland. It receives containers by rail or road from the seaport for examination and clearance by customs and other competent authorities. It has all the Loading and off-loading equipment needed to handle containers.

The ICDs/CFSs are expected to achieve the following among others:

  • Bring shipping services to the door step of shippers across the nation.
  • Assist in decongesting the seaports and make them more user friendly
  • Provides the impetus to revive and modernise the railway as a primary mode for long distance haulage.
  • Assists in the over-all costs of cargo to hinterland locations as well as transit cargoes to landlocked countries.
  • The Council promoted and facilitated the establishment of Inland Container Depots (ICDs) in Nigeria on the basis of Public Private Partnership (PPP).

There are seven (7) approved locations for the Inland Container Depots (ICDs) / Container Freight Stations (CFSs), which were concessioned to private sector operators by the ICD Implementation Committee of the Federal Ministry of Transport as follows:

  1. IsialaNgwa, Aba
  2. Erunmu, Ibadan
  3. Heipang, Jos
  4. Zawachiki, Kano
  5. Zamfarawa, Funtua
  6. Jauri, Maiduguri
  7. ICNL, Kaduna

In addition to the seven (7) gazetted ICDs, there have been proposals from the private sector to establish ICDs at Dagbolu in Osun State, Lolo in Kebbi State, Onitsha in Anambra State and Ogwashi-Uku in Delta State.